top of page
Search

How to Apply for a New Zealand Tourist Visa Online for Filipinos


I mentioned in my previous blog that my fiancé and I went on an epic 13 day Australia-New Zealand adventure and to date, it is one of the most memorable trip. I got my Australian visa in a week thanks to its super efficient online services but New Zealand is much faster as I got my MULTIPLE TOURIST VISA in just 3 days.


Here are steps on how to apply for a New Zealand Tourist Visa Online for Filipinos: 1) Go to the New Zealand Website  and create a RealMe Account In the upper right hand corner of the website, click Login and click create a RealMe Account. RealMe is a secure online ID that allows you to login to a wide range of New Zealand Government services using just one username and password. All notifications and grant visa letters will be sent through this portal so always make a habit to check your account for updates. Once you have your RealMe Account, you can create, update, or save your application until you are ready for submission and payment. 



2) Prepare your requirements and supporting documents The usual documents such as Passports, Personal IDs (e.g. Company ID, TIN ID, Driver's License, NSO Birth Certificate), Travel history evidence (e.g. Grant visa from other countries, passport stamps), Financial capacity (e.g. bank statement, bank certificate, ITR, Credit Card Statement for the past 3 months), Work experience (e.g. Certificate of Employment, pay slip for the past 3 months, etc.) are needed for uploading. 


Note that you need a confirmed return travel ticket when you apply for a tourist visa in New Zealand. Unlike in other embassies, you're not required to present a ticket. This is a risk in case you purchase your ticket but get denied of visa but  unfortunately, it's really a requirement in NZ embassy.


You also need to upload your confirmed hotel bookings but the trick here is to book hotels or accommodations via Booking.com or Agoda.com because you can book a place without pre-payment and you can even cancel your reservation a day before your arrival without cancellation fees.


Step 2 is quite long and tedious because you need to SCAN all supporting documents and save via PDF. For passport photo, you need to save in jpeg format. I tried to take a photo of myself using a cellphone camera but the portal does not approve of the lighting and the specific measurements of the ID. I also tried scanning my passport photo and save via jpeg but it was rejected so I got my passport photo taken in Tronix Imaging Center (mostly found inside malls) because you can download your photo online.

3) Prepare Payment

New Zealand Tourist Visa for Filipinos does NOT have a visa fee if you intend to stay there fore 59 days or less. Should you wish to travel to NZ for more than 59 days, you need to pay for NZD$ 165 or about Php 6,000+ per applicant. 


You also have the option whether you want to pay the following extra services:

Php 570 per application for visa handling

Php 110 per application for SMS reminders (I availed this one because I don't regularly open my RealMe Account)

Php 380 per application for a one-way courier pick-up OR delivery of your passport

Php 600 per application for a two-way courier pick-up AND delivery of your passport


4) Submit your Passport to VFS Global 

After submitting your requirements online, you need to wait for the acknowledgment letter (you must print that page!) stating that you need to submit your passports to VFS Global--New Zealand's global agency partner here in the Philippines. VFS Global is very efficient and transactions are usually fast despite the long queue. 


To submit your passport, you can do it in 3 ways:

1) Submit personally at Ecoplaza Building in Chino Roces Avenue Extension, Makati City (see address below). I know they also have another satellite office in Cebu City.

2) Submit via a representative but provide an authorization letter and copies of your ID and the representative.

3) Submit via any courier or through New Zealand Visa Application Center's (NZVAC) courier which amounts to Php 380.00 for one way (just pick-up then you will be the one to get the passport at VFS personally) and the Php 600 for two-way meaning, courier will pick up and deliver your passport to your home. 

5) Wait for the results 

According to the New Zealand website, application process can last up to 20 days but based on my experience, it only took me 3 days to receive my grant multiple entry tourist visa for NZ and I received the notification online. 


If you have a granted visa, you need to print the PDF and ALWAYS bring it with you when you travel to New Zealand.  


The photo below is my grant visa notice. I only applied for a single pass but they gave me a 2 year multiple visa which made me so happy.

Disclaimer: This is an old post from my Blogspot account dated November 12, 2017.

Comments


bottom of page