top of page
Search

Singapore Expenses 2012


This is my personal Singapore expenses for 5 whole days and 4 nights. The total amount is Php 24,048.42 ALL IN and that includes my day trip to Malaysia. As you can observe, I did not buy any gifts or pasalubong to my family and friends because it's too expensive plus they said I shouldn't bother haha :) 

In this expense blog post, I included a new part called the "possible savings" part since there are a lot of things we overlooked due to either lost in translation (like in Malaysia food court) and lack of research on our part for the EZ link train card or even the packaged fee for the museum visit haha. If we knew about the discounts and other promos then we could have saved Php 1,192.


On the next part of "possible savings", I included items which can be deleted or avoided if I resisted temptation...and I could have saved additional Php 6,45 AND YES, 2 beers and a small plate of deep fried squid amounts to a whopping Php 1,277.


So, all in all I could have saved Php 7,650 and if I subtract that amount to my total (24,048.42) then I could have spent only 16,398.42 ALL IN for 5 Days 4 Nights in Singapore plus side tour in Malaysia.


Now you may ask me how did I do it? Then please take not of my tips on saving.

TIPS ON SAVING: Accommodation: 1. Look for the cheapest BUT make sure it has good reviews through travel sites such as Travel Advisor, Booking.com, Agoda etc. 2. Try SG Backpackers dormitory (very decent) but definitely not for all travelers. It is highly suggested if you're with your friends of 2 to 6.

Food: 1. Try to eat a variety of food such as food court, restaurants, and street food because eating in restaurants (especially in Singapore) could be expensive. 2. Research on places that have expensive foods like the Universal Studios. Hence, we ate at 7-11 for heavy noodles prior to going to the theme park haha "poor mode on!". 3. Bring water bottle at all times for refill in possible drinking stations. 4. If going with friends, share food and don't always order 1 per person because servings are big.

Transportation: 1. Be aware of your EZ Link Card load, since you can only load for minimum of SGD 10. Therefore, if you need to use the MRT for once only, just buy single ticket. 2. No need to ride taxi...because we survived not riding one in Singapore haha. We walked and walked or took the MRT :) RESEARCH is the key! Research the MRT station nearest to your location or try to look at Bus Route which can easily be understood unlike in Seoul haha.

Entrance Fees: 1. Maximize all packages being offered through websites, ticketing booth or hotels because these has great discounts. 2. Ask in accommodation if they provide discounts. 3. No need to go through all the rides and entrance especially in Sentosa. Select only what interests you! AND TRY THE INDOOR SKYDIVING at iFly Singapore :D 4. Sometimes there are Filipino Staff working in Singapore so speak to them and try to ask for discounts. they are generous in giving discounts to their Kababayan. So, there you have it folks! I was able to tour around Singapore and Malaysia with just around Php 20,000 in 5 days. If I can do it...so can you! :)


Disclaimer: This is an old post from my Blogspot account dated November 19, 2012.

Comments


bottom of page